The harder I work, the luckier I get.

 

 

 

No shit, it’s true. I squirrel away on my own day in day out trying to be creative and design some new funky prods then….. *BOOM* …..right when I’m least expecting it, I get some fab news. I am loving May already. You little fab month you!

The UK experienced a little mini heat wave (I sat out in the sun all Sunday whilst designing my pop up shopΒ & then made the fatal mistake of fake tanning = I look like I rolled in Doritos) but a slice of Spain-esque heat is good for your soul, I’m convinced. May, May, also the month of 2 bank holidays, means nowt much to me as I will always find myself doing some sort of work/product development/designing. If its sunny I’ll sit out and do it now. Erm, I think we may have had summer??

I went over to Manchester last week to do a 60-second pitch about Squiffy Print to the lovely people of Entrepreneurial Spark. This is the world’s largest free business accelerator for early stage and growing ventures. I heard of ‘Spark’ via a fellow notonthehigstreet seller Bec at Do You Punctuate?Β and who inspired me to apply. Within a few days of applying I had an email to ask if I could go and pitch to them, and, to cut a long story short I have got onto the programme and I’m off to boot camp in August! Glass of Prosecco to celebrate!

 

Another piece of news I can’t really get my head round, but am very very grateful for such a fantastic opportunity, is having one of my products selected to be in the Father’s Day campaign for notonthehighstreet.com. But not just that. It is also going on the TV advert. The national TV advert. I am excited. I am scared. I am drinking prosecco. Again. This will be aired from the 5th to the 18th June. I will watch whilst, maybe, having a prosecco?! πŸ˜‰

Here it is: Super Chef/Dad Apron that also doubles as a cape for when tea time turns into playtime. Complete with a personalised side-kick apron as an add-on. I can’t wait to see the advert *stocks up prosecco ready* πŸ˜‰

I’ve also just come back from a Power Hour at +24 Marketing where I was with Dave Walker, Social Sam and Butty Boy (man?) to talk about and quiz the guys on all things business related. I got an hour (complete with clock and everything) and we managed to squeeze quite a lot of info into it and out of them! Keep your eyes peeled for the videos to be uploaded where you will be able to hear the dulcet tones of my Lancashire accent and, judging by the way I’ve seen these boys edit videos, I think maybe some bloopers and outtakes too. I’m not sharing the embarrassing ones so you will have to hunt these down yourself. Which won’t be hard as they will most likely be via their FB page. Here’s a picture of myself (the orange one) and Dave (the white shiny one) from behind the scenes. It really was very helpful and a laugh, thank you guys!

A massive thing I have realised I need to do is to manage my time more effectively when it comes to social media/blogs. I am writing this in-between cutting out artwork. Hopefully this is a positive step in the right direction and I can continue my new found social organisation! I’ve also just got myself on SnapChat so please feel free to follow me at Squiffyprint – no idea what I’m doing yet, but I’m sure I will get better in time! ;D

 

Leave a Reply

